Women in Wyoming agriculture recognized during Wyoming State Fair

Photograph of seven women
Heart of Agriculture honorees attending the recognition program and holding their metal gate signs include, from left, Jeannie Lockwood, Sublette County; Morgan Cross-Shoults, Goshen County; Diana Berger, Carbon County; Connie Lohse, Johnson County; Valerie Murray, Big Horn County; Mickey Thoman, Sweetwater County; Kendall Roberts, Laramie County.

Nineteen Wyoming women were honored for their contributions to the state’s agriculture with Heart of Agriculture awards during a special program Wednesday, Aug. 12, at the Wyoming State Fair in Douglas.

The recognition program had been postponed due to COVID-19 from a ceremony originally planned in May at the Excellence in Ag Seminar in Casper by the University of Wyoming Extension.

Seven of the recipients were in attendance. Nominations were reviewed by a member of UW Extension and members of the co-hosts: the Wyoming Stock Growers Association, Wyoming Wool Growers Association and the Wyoming Farm Bureau.

Extension educator Scott Cotton presented certificates and metal “Wyoming Heart of Agriculture Honoree works here” gate signs to (county, name):


Albany ­– Robin Carter

Big Horn ­– Valerie Murray

Photograph of woman
Valerie Murray
Photograph of woman
Morgan Cross-Shoults

Campbell ­– Nancy Tarver

Carbon – Diana Berger

Converse – Rachel Grant

Crook – Pat Frolander

Fremont – Timmery Hellyer

Goshen – Morgan Cross-Shoults

Photograph of woman
Diana Berger

Hot Springs – Terry Wilson

Photograph of woman
Jeannie Lockwood

Johnson – Connie Lohse

Laramie – Kendall Roberts

Photograph of woman
Connie Lohse

Lincoln – Corby McGinnis

Natrona – Marcia Campbell

Niobrara – Rhonda Pfister

Park – Elsie Wagler

Platte – Nancy Foy

Sublette – Jeannie Lockwood

Photograph of woman
Kendall Roberts

Sweetwater County – Mickey Thoman

Weston – Nancy Darnell

Photograph of woman
Mickey Thoman

Continue reading AgNews
«    |    »